Injured Georgia workers are not always able to return back to work due to their work injury. In these cases, the hurt employee may be deemed “totally disabled.” Should this occur, the employee hurt at work may be entitled to money benefits under O.C.G.A. § 34-9-261. The amount of money the injured Georgia worker would be entitled to depends upon his or her average weekly wage. Georgia law provides that the employee may receive two-thirds of the average weekly wage. However, as of June 2022, the GA workers’ compensation law provides that the maximum amount the hurt employee may receive on a weekly basis is $675, presuming the injury occurred on or after July 1, 2019. This is regardless of how much the hurt employee was making. O.C.G.A. § 34-9-260.
If two-thirds of the average weekly wage amounts to less than $675, the Employer/Insurer must reveal to the State Board of Workers’ Compensation its calculations through a board form WC-6. Here the Employer/Insurer is obligated to list the injured worker’s wages for 13 weeks prior to the accident. Often times, employees hurt on the job simply accept the Employer/Insurer’s calculations. However, we believe that the injured employee should verify their numbers to determine if the amount of money provided weekly is accurate.
If you are an injured Georgia worker and are having trouble getting your benefits started or have any questions about your these money benefits, please call Ramos & Law.
14 Lenox Pointe NE Atlanta, GA 30324
Have you or someone you love been hurt at work? There are certain deadlines in the Georgia Workers’ Comp system. Fill out the contact form below for a free consultation to examine your rights, or call us at (770) 637-0105, even if you’ve been denied benefits.
* We value your privacy, all information is kept strictly confidential.